OUTSTANDING YOUNG LAWYER OF TEXAS AWARD LIBERTY BELL AWARD OUTSTANDING MENTOR AWARD

Nomination Rules and Criteria
2013-2014





Dear Bar Leaders:

We invite you to help honor members of your community. The Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) annually presents three prestigious awards:

- (1) the **Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award**, which recognizes one young lawyer who has demonstrated professional proficiency, service to the profession, and service to the community; and
- (2) the Liberty Bell Award, which recognizes one outstanding non-lawyer in Texas who has made the most selfless contribution to his or her community to strengthen the effectiveness of the American system of Justice by instilling better understanding and appreciation of the law.
- (3) the **Outstanding Mentor Award**, which recognizes one attorney who has consistently demonstrated a commitment to mentoring young lawyers in his or her legal community.

We encourage each local bar association to participate by selecting local award winners for recognition during your local Law Day ceremonies. Your selections can then be submitted to TYLA as nominees in the statewide awards selection process. Please note: the presentation of an award at the local level is not a requirement for nominating that person for the statewide award. You should, however, begin your selection process now.

The rules and criteria for the Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas, the Liberty Bell and Outstanding Mentor awards are enclosed. Each local bar is eligible to submit one nominee for each award. Please submit one application per nominee. Written nominations and supporting exhibits must be received in the TYLA office by **April 11, 2014**. FAXED APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

All applications must be submitted in writing to:

Natalie Cobb Koehler, Chair
TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award Committee
1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701

Jennifer Evans Morris, Chair TYLA Liberty Bell Award Committee 1414 Colorado, 4th Floor Austin, Texas 78701

Cori Harbour-Valdez, Chair TYLA Outstanding Mentor Award Committee 1414 Colorado, 4th Floor Austin, Texas 78701

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact the TYLA office at (800) 204-2222, ext. 1529.

OUTSTANDING YOUNG LAWYER OF TEXAS AWARD

PURPOSE

To recognize one young lawyer in Texas who best demonstrates professional proficiency, service to the profession, and service to the community.

ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible for the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award, the nominee must:

- be licensed to practice law in Texas,
- have paid membership dues prescribed by the Supreme Court of Texas,
- be a member in good standing of the State Bar of Texas
- · be 36 years of age or younger as of June 1, 2013 or
- initially licensed within 60 months prior to June 1, 2013.

NOMINATIONS CRITERIA

The TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of each nominee in making its recommendation to the TYLA Board of Directors. Outstanding qualities include but are not limited to exemplified:

- professional proficiency,
- · service to the profession, and
- · service to the community.

NOMINATIONS PROCESS

Nominations must be submitted from a recognized TYLA affiliate or local bar association. Any individual, group of individuals, or other organization may submit a nomination to the local affiliate or local bar association for consideration. However, the local affiliate or local bar may only submit a single nominee for consideration for the statewide Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Nominations must be submitted by written application only, preferably in narrative form. The application should include but is not limited to the following sections: (1) table of contents, (2) recent photograph of the nominee; (3) narrative nomination, (4) biographical information, (5) letters of recommendation, and (6) any other appropriate exhibits. The entire application—including exhibits—should be placed in a three-ring binder with no larger than a 2-inch capacity.

Submit only one copy of the application. All items should be neat and legible. Do not include original documents with the application, as we do not guarantee return of any items submitted.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF RECIPIENT

All nominations will be reviewed by the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award Committee, which will select a winner for approval by the TYLA Board of Directors at its board meeting May 2-4, 2014. The award will be presented to the recipient of the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award at the TYLA Annual Meeting held in conjunction with the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting in Austin on June 27, 2014. The recipient will be an honored guest of TYLA at the event.

APPLICATION DEADLINE:

April 11, 2014 (5 p.m.)

Current officers and directors of the Texas Young Lawyers Association and members of the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award Committee are not eligible for consideration. The following is a list of lawyers who are ineligible to be nominated as the TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas for 2013-2014.

Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award Committee

Natalie Cobb Koehler David Anderson Sylvia A. Cardona Hon. Amos Mazzant William W. Miller, Jr. Lee Ann Reno Mary Reveles Rebecca Vela Gindi Eckel Vincent

TYLA Officers

Kristy Blanchard, President Cameron J. Cox, Chair Victor Villarreal, Vice President Priscilla D. Camacho, Secretary C. Barrett Thomas, Treasurer Rebekah Steely Brooker, President-elect Dustin M. Howell, Chair-elect C.E. Rhodes, Immediate Past President

TYLA DIRECTORS

Amanda A. Abraham, Marshall Sharesa Y. Alexander, Austin Alex Bell, Waco Kathryn E. Boatman, Houston Aaron J. Burke, Dallas Priscilla D. Camacho, San Antonio Aaron T. Capps, Dallas Patrice B. Childress, Houston D. Lance Currie, Dallas Laura W. Docker, Fort Worth Andrew Dornburg, Angleton Lacy L. Durham, Dallas Zeke Fortenberry, McKinney Bill Gardner, Dallas Morgan L. Gaskin, Houston Laura L. Hale, Amarillo Soraya Yanar Hanshew, El Paso Sam Houston, San Antonio Amber I James Odessa Leif Olson, Houston Laura Pratt, Lubbock Sally Pretorius, Austin Danny Razo, El Paso Baili B. Rhodes, College Station Alex B. Roberts, Houston Eduardo Romero, Laredo John W. Shaw, Fort Worth

L. Brook Stuntebeck, Lewisville C. Barrett Thomas, Sweetwater Amanda N. Torres, Corpus Christi Shannon Steel White, Corpus Christi Jacquelyn Wilson, Austin Brandy M. Wingate, McAllen Baylor Wortham, Beaumont

TYLA LIAISONS

Clint Harbour, Access To Justice Anita Barksdale, ABA YLD District 25 Travis Patterson, ABA YLD District 26